‎APC Rejects Dass, Tafawa-Balewa Bogoro Federal Constituency result in Bauchi

The All Progressive Congress (APC) Bauchi State Chapter has rejected the Saturday’s election result of the Dass, Tafawa -Balewa, Bogoro federal constituency in the state.

Our correspondent reports that The the Independent National Electoral Commission Returning Officer, Professor Mohammed Abdulhmid has declared Honourable Yakubu Dogara of the People’s Democratic Party winner of the Saturday’s elections in to the Bogoro, Dass, Tafawa /Balewa Federal Constituency who polled 73,609 votes to beat Alhaji Dalhatu Kantana of All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored 50,078 to retain his seat in house of Representative.

Alhaji Uba Nana the state Chairman of the Party stated this at press conference in Bauchi on Monday.

He alleged that the election was marred by many irregularities such as disenfranchisement of All Progressive Congress (APC) members at polling units in Bogoro and Tafawa Balewa local governments by suspected PDP thugs.

Nana said that in most of the polling units where APC candidate was suspected to have highest votes, the speaker’s supporters harassed and prevented people from voting.

The chairman also accused the PDP of attacking APC agents at polling units in many places in the two local government areas with a view to forcing to compromise and alter results.

” PDP is scared of humiliating defeat by our candidate Honourable Kantana and they know that if that happened, the speaker Dogara would be embarrassed. So they engaged thugs to harrass and prevent voters believed to be in support of the APC candidate from casting their votes.

” The truth is that the constituents are fed up with Dogara’s domination over the years without commensurate dividends of democracy. So the speaker’s supporters resorted to all forms of electoral malpractices to make sure he is retained as representative of Dass, Tafawa Balewa and Bogoro constituency”. He alleged

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.