Akwa Ibom APC loses 2 federal constituencies to PDP

The All Progressive Congress, APC has lost 2 seats in the House of representatives to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after the ruling by the Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Uyo.

The new house members are Aniekan Umanah and Pat Ifon representing Abak/Etim and Ekpo/Ika and Eket federal constituencies respectively.

Newly appointed Minister of Niger Delta, Senator Godswill Akpabio also lost at the tribunal.

Akpabio, the first petitioner had challenged the elections on the ground that Senator Christopher Ekpenyong was not duly elected by majority of lawful votes cast at the February 23, 2019 elections for the Akwa Ibom North West senatorial district.

Moreover, it was also argued that the election that produced Senator Christopher Ekpeyong as winner was invalid owing to non-compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act in the conduct of the elections.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.