APC’s Lyon wins Bayelsa governorship election

Chief David-Lyon, Bayelsa APC governorship candidate Credit: The Nation

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate, David Lyon has winner of the Bayelsa governorship election.

The returning officer, who is also the Vice Chancellor of the University of Benin, Faraday Orumwese made the announcement on Monday morning.

The APC candidate, Lyon polled 352,552 votes to defeat Duoye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 143, 172 votes.

Lyon won in 6 of the 8 local government areas – Ogbia, Yenagoa, Brass, Nembe, Ekeremor and Southern Ijaw while Diri cleared just Sagbama and Kolokuma/Opokuma.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.