Buhari appoints Soludo, Rewane, Salami in new economic team

President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday, September 16, replaced the Economic Management Team chaired by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo with an Economic Advisory Council.

The Economic Advisory Council has Prof Doyin Salami as the Chairman and will be reporting directly to President Buhari.

Other members of the are Dr. Mohammed Sagagi (Vice-Chairman); Prof Ode Ojowu; Dr Shehu Yahaya; Dr Iyabo Masha; Prof Chukwuma Soludo; Mr Bismark Rewane; and  Dr Mohammed Adaya Salisu (Secretary).

President Buhari’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina made the announcement in a statement.

He said “This advisory council will replace the current Economic Management Team and will be reporting directly to the President.

“The Economic Advisory Council (EAC) will advise the President on economic policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.

“The EAC will have monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President.  The Chairman may, however, request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.