FG set to commence pilot phase of Ruga Settlements


Federal government is set to commence the pilot phase of the establishment of Ruga settlements across some state in the country, PUNCH magazine confirmed in a report.

The execution of the project will start in Taraba, Adamawa, Plateau, Kaduna and some seven other states.

PUNCH.ng found from senior official of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development are determined to go ahead with the project, notwithstanding the public disapproval in the South.

“The pilot states for its implementation are Sokoto, Adamawa, Nasarawa, Kaduna, Kogi, Taraba, Katsina, Plateau, Kebbi, Zamfara and Niger. They are actually 11 in number and the governors of these states are coming to the ministry to learn  how the Ruga settlements will be implemented,” said the senior official.

It would recalled that the permanent secretary of the federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Mohammed Umar said that the development of Ruga settlement will attract a lot of investment to Nigeria and belief that in the next five years, will provide nothing less than 2,000 employment opportunities.

The project also is said to be part of the solution to the incessant clashes between farmers and herders.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.